See You Soon

Over the past month, I have dealt with more trauma and devastation than anyone can imagine.

July and August have been unimaginably painful. First, I had shingles. I worked through the first week of them but the second week I needed to stay home and let my body rest. Second, my mom’s cancer came back. Yup. Cancer. The big C word. The cancer is being treated with chemotherapy and she is doing so well handling it all. We can’t thank those around us enough for their support. During all this, my best friend was sitting in the ICU on a ventilator fighting for her life. August 8th I got the call. My best friend was gone. Two days later, I turned 22. I spent my day working before travelling to North Bay the next week.

Fast forward to August 18 when I arrive home. I do as much as I can before returning to work. As I was getting ready, I felt the oh too family pain of a gallbladder infection. I called into work, drove myself to the emergency department, and was admitted to treat an infection. Two days later I lost my job because I was “unreliable”. That was the day I asked for a psychiatric evaluation. I got a date for a meeting with a counsellor at the Homewood in Guelph.

At this time, I have decided to not attend school in September. Out of all the aspects of my health, I have never taken the time to work on my mental health. We are hoping tomorrow I will be able to be admitted to an in patient program to work on my mental health.

You may not see updates from me for a while as I take time to do this. I will have my parents update as necessary.

 

 

Leave a comment