Living My Best Life

Having a transplant and a second chance at life allows to do so much. You have a higher motivation to get out and do things because you finally can. The one key to this, is having positive influences surrounding you.

Lately, I have had a lot of negative energy hanging around me. This led to me taking 3 weeks off from the gym, sleeping almost all day, and hardly eating. This called for some tough decision making, and with that, comes stress.

As much as I loved being a personal trainer, I didn’t find joy in it anymore. I wasn’t motivated to help people lose weight, I wanted to work more with injury and sports rehabilitation. This led to me closing my business. At first, I viewed myself as a failure. I started a business when I was 19, and just two years later I was closing it. The day I decided to do this, a huge weight was lifted off my shoulders. I already felt more relaxed! I am so grateful to have such supportive parents who recognize that sometimes I push myself too far and need a break. Doesn’t everyone need a break from reality every once in a while?

After transplant, a lot of my friends started to fade away. They would come to the hospital to see me, but I could tell it was all too much for them. Slowly, they stopped asking to make plans, then they stopped even checking in on me. They carried on with there lives and I was stuck waiting for them to come back. When I realized that those probably weren’t the best friends since they walked away so quickly, I started to make more of an effort with the friends who did stick with me. It works both ways.

Living my best life means doing what is best for me, not others around me. Being able to focus on my own physical and mental health is going to mean big changes in my life. I’ve started seeing things clearer and being the bigger person in situations. It’s only been one week and I’m already feeling better. Let’s see what living the rest of my life like this is going to bring me.

Leave a comment